Павел Асанов
2GIS, Novosibirsk

Automated functional testing for REST API: the Secrets and Pitfalls

One essential thing for a modern application is cross-platform approach provided with several different clients and backend as RESTful service. Ensuring the quality of data in API, we provide the proper quality of the entire product line. But manual testing of a web service is rather long, complicated and tedious task. What's the solution?


It is obvious that the testing of such a technical product as an API could be easily automated. However, in my speech i want to discuss not only automated tests but the whole set of tools to provide the quality of a web service at different stages of development.


How to ensure the API format is correct? How to keep the documentation up-to-date? What is the best choice for a functional test architecture?


You will get the answers attending my presentation - I'd be happy to share my experience received in 2GIS LLC. We will discuss the JSON-schema and parameterized tests, the ways to test an API as a black-box and how to choose the initial data for testing.

Audience level
Regular Talk (40 min)

Comments

{{comment.AuthorInfo}}
{{ comment.DateCreated | date: 'dd.MM.yyyy' }}
Found a mistake?

Павел Асанов
2GIS, Новосибирск

Автоматизация функционального тестирования REST API: секреты, тонкости и подводные камни

Один из ключей к успеху современного приложения - это мультиплатформенность, т.е. различные клиенты и полноценное REST API на бэкенде. Гарантировав надлежащее качество данных в API, мы обеспечиваем качественную работу всей продуктовой линейки. Но тестировать веб-сервис вручную - сложно, долго и очень утомительно. Как же быть? 


Понятно, что такой технический продукт как API по своей сути легко поддаётся автоматизации. Однако в своём докладе я бы хотел поговорить не только об автотестах, а о целом комплексе автоматических инструментов для обеспечения качества веб-сервиса на разных этапах разработки. 


Как обеспечить проверку формата? Как поддерживать документацию в актуальном виде? Какую архитектуру выбрать для функциональных тестов? 


Приходите, и я радостью поделюсь нашим опытом в компании 2ГИС. Мы поговорим про JSON-схемы и параметризованные тесты, обсудим, как можно тестировать API методом чёрного ящика и как выбрать исходные данные для тестирования. 

Уровень сложности
Секционный доклад (40 мин)

Комментарии

{{comment.AuthorInfo}}
{{ comment.DateCreated | date: 'dd.MM.yyyy' }}
Ваш отзыв теперь здесь. Продолжайте общаться с докладчиком
Заметили ошибку?